Moneycontrol PRO
you are here: HomeNewsBank holidays

Bank Holidays 2023 in India

Indian banks are closed for operations on second and fourth Saturday of every month and on all Sundays of a month. Apart from this, banks are also shut on public holidays.

Most of the bank holidays are common across India, but there are a few region-specific public holidays which are different in different states, depending on the local customs and cultures. If you want to check whether your bank is closed on a certain day, it is advisable to check the local guidelines for the state you are residing in.

Some of the most prominent bank holidays in India include Republic Day (January 26), Independence Day (August 15), Gandhi Jayanti (October 2) and Christmas (December 25). There are certain other religious festivals on which banks remain closed. However, these dates change every year. Such festivals include Diwali, Dussehra, Eid, Ganesh Chaturthi, Buddha Purnima and so on.

List of bank Holidays in India

Date Day Holiday
14 January 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
26 January 2023 Thursday Republic Day/Saraswati Puja (Shree Panchami)
28 January 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 February 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
18 February 2023 Saturday Mahashivratri (Maha Vad-14)/Sivarathri
25 February 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
07 March 2023 Tuesday Holi/Holi (Second Day)/Holika Dahan/Dhulandi/Dol Jatra/Attukal Pongala
11 March 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
22 March 2023 Wednesday Gudi Padwa/Ugadi Festival/Bihar Divas/Sajibu Nongmapanba (Cheiraoba)/Telugu New Year's Day/1st Navratra
25 March 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 March 2023 Thursday Shree Ram Navami (Chaite Dashain)
01 April 2023 Saturday To enable Banks to close their yearly accounts
04 April 2023 Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti
07 April 2023 Friday Good Friday
08 April 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
14 April 2023 Friday Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti/Bohag Bihu/Cheiraoba/Vaisakhi/Baisakhi/Tamil New Year's Day/Maha Bisubha Sankranti/Biju Festival/Buisu Festival
22 April 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
01 May 2023 Monday Maharashtra Day/May Day
05 May 2023 Friday Buddha Purnima
13 May 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
27 May 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 June 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
24 June 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
28 June 2023 Wednesday Bakri Eid (Eid-Ul-Zuha)
08 July 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
22 July 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
29 July 2023 Saturday Muharram (Tajiya)
12 August 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
15 August 2023 Tuesday Independence Day
16 August 2023 Wednesday Parsi New Year
26 August 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
09 September 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
19 September 2023 Tuesday Ganesh Chaturthi/Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha)
23 September 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
28 September 2023 Thursday Eid-E-Milad/Eid-e-Meeladunnabi - (Prophet Mohammad's Birthday) (Bara Vafat)
01 October 2023 Sunday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
14 October 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
24 October 2023 Tuesday Dussehra/Dusshera (Vijaya Dashmi)/Durga Puja
28 October 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 November 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
14 November 2023 Tuesday Diwali (Bali Pratipada)/Deepavali/Vikram Samvant New Year Day/Laxmi Puja
25 November 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
27 November 2023 Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti/Karthika Purnima/Rahas Purnima
09 December 2023 Saturday Second Saturday
23 December 2023 Saturday Fourth Saturday
25 December 2023 Monday Christmas
Find bank HolidaysIndia
State List for Bank Holidays in India

Bank Holiday's Common FAQ's

Are State Holidays applicable to all banks?

State holidays are not applicable to all the banks in the country. A mandatory state holiday will be applicable to all the banks located in a particular state.

Banks in India remain closed on Sundays and the second and fourth Saturdays.

No, banks will not remain shut on weekdays if public holidays fall on a weekend.

On the day of a bank holiday, customers can always access the services by Internet banking, mobile banking, and ATM services, as registered with their respective banks.

RTGS (Real Time Gross Settlement) and NEFT (National Electronic Funds Transfer) allow people to transfer cash from one bank account to another. RTGS & NEFT system has been made available 24x7 from 14 December, 2020.

Although money is credited to the receiver's account through RTGS and NEFT on bank holidays, the sender may get the receipt on the next bank working day.

Bank Holidays in India

Mostly regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), both public and private-sector banks followed certain schedules and holidays as governed by the RBI regulations. Speaking of which, while banks usually remain closed on Sundays and public holidays, there are also certain bank holidays that are state or country-specific. For example, all public and private-sector banks remain shut on Sundays, second and fourth Saturdays, and gazetted holidays like 26 January (Republic Day), 15 August (Independence Day), and Gandhi Jayanti (2 October).

Besides the gazetted holidays, banks also remain closed on many other occasions, which vary from state to state. Some of these include major festivals like Diwali, Holi, Eid, Dussehra, Christmas, and others.

Types of Bank Holidays in India

Gazetted holidays/National Holidays - As a part of the Negotiable Instruments (NI) Act, of 1881, banks across the country remain closed on specific days in a year.

Government Holidays/Public Holidays - Government holidays are distributed into two categories coming under state government and central government. While the former varies from one state to another, central government bank holidays are marked across the country.

Banking News